Expertise sought

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    David Hewitt

We are in a difficult situation with our insurer over a write-off car. They will not allow our mechanic to speak to their experts because they won’t honor the claim. But to honor the claim, we need the experts to speak to each other, as the call handler keeps mis-stating what happened. So circular debate that goes nowhere.

I was making a very short trip into town, when the oil light came on. I looked for the next opportunity to pull over, which was not easy in a busy town centre but within I estimate 500 metres I was able to pull into a supermarket car park. The dipstick showed no oil which seemed odd. I bought some oil, poured it in, and watched as a large puddle spread under the car. I’m no mechanic but I knew not to move the car. Recovery eventually came out and said I had a big hole in the sump – I must have run over debris in the road but honestly didn’t notice anything other than the oil light. I arranged a flatbed truck to winch it up and take it to my local garage. At no point was the car started at all, to avoid any damage to the engine.

My mechanic ordered a sump, when it came in repaired it, put new oil in and then tested to see if the engine was damaged. He started the car, took it 50 meters and was unhappy with the way the engine sounded. He took apart one of the bearings and it was obviously very damaged, along with other telltale signs. So we’ve called the insurance company to say the car is a write-off because the engine was damaged at the accident scene.

The call handler, who goes off to speak to others and will not allow us, nor our mechanic to speak to an engineer who can speak the same language, returns and says, the damage happened when the mechanic drove it after repairs.